Minor League Baseball – PDL And Relationship With Major League Baseball

FEBUARY 12, 2021 — **Major League Baseball** announced that all 120 Minor League Clubs offered an invitation to become Professional Development League ("PDL") license holders have officially agreed to accept. These teams, selected as partners by Major League Clubs and being announced in full (Feb. 21), will provide both facilities and communities that are essential to the development of the next generation of big-league stars.

Commissioner of Baseball Robert D. Manfred, Jr. said:

"We are excited to unveil this new model, which not only provides a pipeline to the Majors, but continues the Minor Leagues' tradition of entertaining millions of families in hundreds of communities. In modernizing our Minor League system, we prioritized the qualities that make the Minor Leagues such an integral part of our game while strengthening how we develop professional athletes on and off the field. We look forward to demonstrating the best of our game throughout local communities, supporting all those who are working hard to grow the sport, and sharing unrivaled technology and resources with minor league teams and players."

The Las Vegas Aviators Professional Baseball team is owned and operated by Summerlin Baseball Club LLC.

The Oakland Athletics Major League Baseball team is Owned/Managing Partner, John Fisher.

Las Vegas Aviators/Oakland Athletics: The Aviators and Athletics, on September 17, 2018, announced a new Player Development Contract through the 2020 season. The A's, on December 9, 2020, invited Las Vegas to be their Triple-A affiliate for the 2021 season. Major League Baseball, on February 12, 2021, announced that all 120 Minor League clubs offered an invitation to become Professional Development League ("PDL") license holders have officially agreed to accept. Thus, the Aviators and Oakland Athletics have extended the affiliation for 10 seasons through the 2030 campaign.

The purpose of the PDL is to develop players available to play in the Major Leagues on demand.

The manager, coaching staff, trainer, strength coach and players of the Triple-A affiliate are employed by the Major League affiliate through the PDL.

There is a total of 30 Triple-A cities that comprise the 20-team International League and the 10-team Pacific Coast League. Therefore the 30 Major League Teams have PDL's with the 30 Triple-A teams.

Las Vegas Triple-A Affiliation History:

San Diego Padres, 18 seasons (1983-2000), 1,227-1,329 (.480), 7 playoff appearances (1983, 84, 86, 87, 88, 1992, 96)

Los Angeles Dodgers, 8 seasons (2001-08), 561-586 (.489), 1 playoff appearance (2002)

Toronto Blue Jays, 4 seasons (2009-2012), 287-288 (.499), 0 playoff appearances

New York Mets, 6 seasons (2013-18), 436-422 (.508), 2 playoff appearances (2013 & 2014)

Oakland Athletics, four seasons (2019 - present), 294-271 (.520), 1 playoff appearance (2019)

The Las Vegas Stars/51^s/Aviators have captured the PCL Championship twice (1986 & 1988) and appeared in the playoffs 11 times (21-32 record, .396), last appeared in 2019. Las Vegas was the 2002, 2013, 2014, 2019 Pacific Southern Division Champions.

ALL-TIME RECORD: 2,805-2,896 (.492)

Triple-A Professional Baseball Summary

Pacific Coast League 10 teams; International League 20 teams

<u>Pacific Coast League</u> (East Division)

Albuquerque Isotopes (Colorado Rockies)

El Paso Chihuahuas (San Diego Padres)

Oklahoma City Dodgers (Los Angeles Dodgers)

Round Rock Express (Texas Rangers)

Sugar Land Space Cowboys (Houston Astros)

(West Division)

Las Vegas Aviators (Oakland Athletics)

Reno Aces (Arizona Diamondbacks)

Sacramento River Cats (San Francisco Giants)

Salt Lake Bees (Los Angeles Angels)

Tacoma Rainiers (Seattle Mariners)

International League (East Division)

Buffalo Bisons (Toronto Blue Jays)

Charlotte Knights (Chicago White Sox)

Durham Bulls (Tampa Bay Rays)

Jacksonville Jumbo Shrimp (Miami Marlins)

Lehigh Valley IronPigs (Philadelphia Phillies)

Norfolk Tides (Baltimore Orioles)

Rochester Red Wings (Washington Nationals)

Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders (New York Yankees)

Syracuse Mets (New York Mets)

Worcester Red Sox (Boston Red Sox)

(West Division)

Columbus Clippers (Cleveland Indians)

Gwinnett Stripers (Atlanta Braves)

Indianapolis Indians (Pittsburgh Pirates)

Iowa Cubs (Chicago Cubs)

Louisville Bats (Cincinnati Reds)

Memphis Redbirds (St. Louis Cardinals)

Nashville Sounds (Milwaukee Brewers)

Omaha Storm Chasers (Kansas City Royals)

St. Paul Saints (Minnesota Twins)

Toledo Mud Hens (Detroit Tigers)